Updated September 2, 2026 with both companies’ current published prices.
Abby Connect and Ruby are two of the longest-running virtual receptionist services in the United States, and businesses shopping for one usually compare them. The short version: both answer 24/7 with U.S.-based receptionists and both include scheduling, intake and bilingual answering, but they differ on price, on how AI fits in, and on how their teams are organised. We sell one of the two, so this is an informed comparison rather than a neutral review. Every price and feature below comes from ruby.com/pricing and abby.com/pricing as published on September 2, 2026.
Abby vs Ruby at a Glance
| Abby Connect | Ruby | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Per Abby Minute; a minute with the AI Receptionist counts as half | Per receptionist minute |
| Entry plan | $165/mo for 50 Abby Minutes | $250/mo for 50 minutes |
| Largest published plan | $1,380/mo for 500 Abby Minutes; Enterprise on request | $1,725/mo for 500 minutes; larger plans on request |
| Effective price per human minute | $2.76 to $3.30 | $3.45 to $5.00 |
| AI receptionist | Yes: built and trained in-house, answers, books and transfers, on the same plan | AI enhancements only: transcripts, sentiment analysis and AI-assisted call flows; no standalone AI receptionist listed |
| Human receptionists | Yes: 100 percent of receptionists work in the office in Las Vegas, none from home; a dedicated team per client | Yes: U.S.-based; Ruby recruits its receptionists for remote roles (its job board lists “Remote Receptionist” positions) |
| 24/7 answering | Included, no upcharge | Included in every plan |
| Bilingual (English/Spanish) | Included, human and AI | 24/7 bilingual answering available |
| Scheduling and intake | Included | Included |
| Setup fee | None | None listed |
| Free trial | Yes, on every plan (14 days or 500 Abby Minutes) | Not listed on its pricing page |
| Contract | Month-to-month | Not stated on its pricing page |
| App and portal | AbbyGO app and portal: summaries, transcripts, sentiment, usage | Mobile app and online portal |
| Integrations | 1,000+ integrations, including Clio, Lawmatics, HubSpot, Salesforce, Calendly and Zapier | CRM, calendar and business-tool integrations through its platform |
Competitor prices and features are taken from ruby.com/pricing, smith.ai/pricing and the plans published on answerconnect.com as read on September 2, 2026. Abby prices are from abby.com/pricing. Where competitors’ receptionists work is quoted from their own sites the same day: Ruby’s job board (ruby.applicantpro.com, “Remote Receptionist” roles), smith.ai/careers and answerconnect.com. Check every provider for current terms before you buy.
Abby vs Ruby Pricing Compared
Both companies sell 50, 100, 200 and 500-minute plans, so the comparison is direct:
| Minutes per month | Abby (Abby Minutes) | Ruby |
|---|---|---|
| 50 | $165 ($3.30 per minute) | $250 ($5.00 per minute) |
| 100 | $329 ($3.29 per minute) | $395 ($3.95 per minute) |
| 200 | $599 ($3.00 per minute) | $720 ($3.60 per minute) |
| 500 | $1,380 ($2.76 per minute) | $1,725 ($3.45 per minute) |
Abby is $66 to $345 a month less at every tier for the same number of human receptionist minutes. The gap widens when the AI Receptionist takes part of the load: because an AI minute uses half an Abby Minute, the $329 Essential plan covers 100 human minutes, 200 AI minutes, or any mix in between. Ruby’s plans include the same feature set at every tier and its AI enhancements are free, but every answered minute is a receptionist minute at the full rate. Ruby does not publish an overage rate; Abby bills overage at your plan’s Abby Minute rate and lets you move up a plan at any time.
Human, AI, or Both
Abby is one subscription used three ways: just human receptionists, just the AI Receptionist, or a mix you can change at any time. Usage is measured in Abby Minutes: a minute with a human receptionist uses one Abby Minute, a minute with the AI Receptionist uses half, so AI-handled calls make the same plan go twice as far.
Ruby’s approach is different: its receptionists answer every call and AI works behind them, transcribing calls, scoring sentiment and supporting call flows at no extra cost. That is a good fit if you want a person on every call and never want a caller to reach an AI. It also means Ruby has no lower-cost lane for after-hours calls, FAQs and message taking, which is exactly where Abby’s AI Receptionist earns its half-rate minutes before handing complex callers to a human receptionist.
Receptionist Teams, Support and Where They Work
Abby’s receptionists work together in one office in Las Vegas, and each client is assigned a dedicated team that learns the account, plus a Client Success Manager who manages call handling instructions and reviews results. Abby has answered calls for small businesses for more than 20 years, and the same experience trains its AI Receptionist. Ruby’s receptionists are U.S.-based and Ruby describes two decades of experience of its own; its plans give every client access to the same trained team rather than a dedicated one. Where they work differs too: every Abby receptionist works in the office, none from home, so calls are supervised and coached in real time on office systems; Ruby recruits its receptionists for remote roles (its job board’s postings are titled “Remote Receptionist”), so your calls are answered from home offices.
Features Side by Side
Most of what a small business needs is on both lists: 24/7 live answering including weekends and holidays, bilingual answering, appointment scheduling, lead qualification and intake, payment collection, HIPAA-compliant handling, custom greetings and call handling instructions, a mobile app with notifications, hosting of your business phone number, and the ability to call and text from it.
- Only Ruby: live chat bundled with the receptionist plan ($143 to $520 a month, or 20 percent off when bundled; Abby sells its Live Web Chat as a separate product) and robocall filtering as a listed feature.
- Only Abby: an AI Receptionist on the same plan at half-rate minutes, a receptionist team that works 100 percent in the office, a dedicated team and Client Success Manager, call summaries and sentiment in the AbbyGO app, a free trial on every plan, and appointment booking through Calendly for human receptionists and hundreds of scheduling platforms for the AI Receptionist.
Trials, Guarantees and Contracts
Abby starts every plan with a free trial: 14 days or 500 Abby Minutes, whichever comes first, with no setup fee, so you hear your real calls answered before you pay. Ruby lists no setup, activation or onboarding fees and no free trial on its pricing page; you sign up for a plan and pay from the first month. Abby is month-to-month; Ruby’s pricing page does not state a contract length.
- You want human receptionists and an AI Receptionist on one plan, with the mix under your control: AI-first, human-first or anything in between, changed at any time.
- You want a lower price for the same human minutes and half-rate minutes for routine calls.
- You want a dedicated team that knows your account and works in the office (not from home), a Client Success Manager, 1,000+ integrations, and a free trial before you pay.
Ruby’s own distinctions are website chat bundled into the receptionist plan and a human-only policy with no AI answering at all. If none of those is a requirement for you, the prices and plan structure above decide it.
Switching from Ruby to Abby
Switching means forwarding your number to Abby (you keep your number), spending a few minutes on how you want calls handled, and letting your dedicated team and the AI Receptionist take calls during the free trial. Abby is month-to-month, so there is no penalty on our side for moving; check your Ruby terms for any notice period. One client who made the switch wrote: “We were looking for an alternative to Call Ruby and we did a Google search. We looked for competitors to Call Ruby, and Abby Connect is the one we got. It’s better than the previous company we had and the cost of having the service is lower.”
Abby vs Ruby: Frequently Asked Questions
Is Abby cheaper than Ruby?
Yes at every published tier. For 100 minutes a month Abby is $329 and Ruby is $395; for 500 minutes Abby is $1,380 and Ruby is $1,725, as published on September 2, 2026. Abby’s AI Receptionist minutes count as half an Abby Minute, which widens the gap for businesses that route routine calls to the AI.
Does Ruby have an AI receptionist?
Ruby’s pricing page lists AI enhancements (AI-powered transcripts, sentiment analysis and AI-assistant-supported call flows) at no extra cost, but no standalone AI receptionist that answers calls. Abby’s AI Receptionist answers, books and transfers calls and is part of every plan.
Does Ruby offer a free trial?
Ruby’s pricing page does not list a free trial; it lists no setup or activation fees. Abby offers a free trial on every plan, 14 days or 500 Abby Minutes, with no setup fee.
Can I keep my phone number if I switch from Ruby to Abby?
Yes. You forward your existing number to Abby and keep it; forwarding can be changed or switched off at any time.
Are Abby’s receptionists in the United States?
Yes. Every one of Abby’s human receptionists works in the office in Las Vegas, Nevada, none from home, in a dedicated team with a Client Success Manager. Ruby, Smith.ai and AnswerConnect staff work-from-home receptionists.
Which is better for a law firm, Abby or Ruby?
Both serve law firms with intake, scheduling and confidential message handling. Abby integrates with Clio and Lawmatics and lets the AI Receptionist take after-hours calls at half-rate minutes while human receptionists handle new-client intake; Ruby offers a receptionist on every call and no AI option. See Abby’s legal answering service.
See Abby’s plans and pricing, or start the free trial: 14 days with human and AI receptionists answering your real calls, no setup fee. Or keep comparing: Abby vs Smith.ai, Abby vs AnswerConnect, the best virtual receptionist services of 2026 and what a virtual receptionist costs.